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	<title>Comments on: App monetization: Gambit launches, funnel metrics, and ARPU vs &#8220;CPM&#8221;</title>
	<atom:link href="http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/</link>
	<description>Essays on viral marketing, freemium, and social gaming</description>
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		<title>By: EdwardV</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1943</link>
		<dc:creator>EdwardV</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 Jul 2009 22:22:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1943</guid>
		<description>Andrew, &lt;br&gt;Thanks for the informative post and for providing the Excel DL!&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;This is a little off topic but I have noticed that many of the bigger game publishers (traditionally retail only) are going online, be it Web, PSN, XBL, mobile.  People like EA have been offering more and more downloadable content, trying to capture new revenue sources.  &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Do you have any insight into how these companies are addressing hybrid revenue streams?  Are they integrating an ARPU model?  It would be interesting to read more about how bigger players are making the move to diversify their biz.  Any links or articles you know of would be greatly appreciated.  &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Thanks!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Andrew, <br />Thanks for the informative post and for providing the Excel DL!</p>
<p>This is a little off topic but I have noticed that many of the bigger game publishers (traditionally retail only) are going online, be it Web, PSN, XBL, mobile.  People like EA have been offering more and more downloadable content, trying to capture new revenue sources.  </p>
<p>Do you have any insight into how these companies are addressing hybrid revenue streams?  Are they integrating an ARPU model?  It would be interesting to read more about how bigger players are making the move to diversify their biz.  Any links or articles you know of would be greatly appreciated.  </p>
<p>Thanks!</p>
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		<title>By: Andrew Chen</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1615</link>
		<dc:creator>Andrew Chen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Mar 2009 20:17:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1615</guid>
		<description>Matt, very happy to hear that! Good job offerpal ;-) Since you guys are leading the market, I think your influence in creating more transparency here is a good thing.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Matt, very happy to hear that! Good job offerpal <img src='http://andrewchenblog.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif' alt=';-)' class='wp-smiley' />  Since you guys are leading the market, I think your influence in creating more transparency here is a good thing.</p>
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		<title>By: mattmcallister</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1614</link>
		<dc:creator>mattmcallister</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Mar 2009 17:42:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1614</guid>
		<description>Andrew, sorry for the delay in responding here. Between the iGames Summit and GDC, I&#039;ve barely been at my desk for over a week. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Anyway, yes, the way the eCPM has been calculated in our sector of the industry has been... (daily revenue / daily uniques) * 1,000.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;But Offerpal plans to move away from such metrics, in part thanks to your post here. The eCPM (better described as earnings per UV) will probably take a while to go away, however, because publishers must use some metric to compare platforms such as ours to one another, and eCPM has become the standard. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Most likely, we will adopt something very similar to your ARPU. Thanks...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Andrew, sorry for the delay in responding here. Between the iGames Summit and GDC, I&#39;ve barely been at my desk for over a week. </p>
<p>Anyway, yes, the way the eCPM has been calculated in our sector of the industry has been&#8230; (daily revenue / daily uniques) * 1,000.</p>
<p>But Offerpal plans to move away from such metrics, in part thanks to your post here. The eCPM (better described as earnings per UV) will probably take a while to go away, however, because publishers must use some metric to compare platforms such as ours to one another, and eCPM has become the standard. </p>
<p>Most likely, we will adopt something very similar to your ARPU. Thanks&#8230;</p>
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		<title>By: Leland</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1608</link>
		<dc:creator>Leland</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 23 Mar 2009 07:23:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1608</guid>
		<description>Absolutely Andrew. I think eCPM is probaly used because, on first glance, it shows a VERY surprising amount of profit and triggers peoples&#039; greed. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;eCPM is a great way..&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;for companies such as Offerpal and Superewards to spread their service. :)&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Anyways, the fact that Matt has posted here his thoughts about eCPM means that their company is definitely working in the right direction. The overall demeanor of the company providing this Leadgen service to an application needs to be thought about long and hard, because the impact to long-term subscribers after introducing a &quot;shady&quot; monetization method such as Leadgen (I say shady because many of the offers open up customers to massive amounts of spam and unsolicited offers). &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Offerpal and other Lead-gen companies needs to come around and realize that there is more of a market for their service then they realize. It&#039;s just that, as it stands, so many of the offers are focused towards &quot;throw-away&quot; users. The type of people that only use a companies service for a short amount of time and then leave anyways. For these companies, having their users spammed by unsolicited offers a week or two later because they used large amounts of their personal information to get &quot;virtual currency&quot; is not a problem. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;But there are many companies (ours included) that value their customers deeply. I hope that these lead-gen companies put some more focus towards providing spam-free and honest offers instead of whatever pays the most.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Absolutely Andrew. I think eCPM is probaly used because, on first glance, it shows a VERY surprising amount of profit and triggers peoples&#39; greed. </p>
<p>eCPM is a great way..</p>
<p>for companies such as Offerpal and Superewards to spread their service. <img src='http://andrewchenblog.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif' alt=':)' class='wp-smiley' /> </p>
<p>Anyways, the fact that Matt has posted here his thoughts about eCPM means that their company is definitely working in the right direction. The overall demeanor of the company providing this Leadgen service to an application needs to be thought about long and hard, because the impact to long-term subscribers after introducing a &#8220;shady&#8221; monetization method such as Leadgen (I say shady because many of the offers open up customers to massive amounts of spam and unsolicited offers). </p>
<p>Offerpal and other Lead-gen companies needs to come around and realize that there is more of a market for their service then they realize. It&#39;s just that, as it stands, so many of the offers are focused towards &#8220;throw-away&#8221; users. The type of people that only use a companies service for a short amount of time and then leave anyways. For these companies, having their users spammed by unsolicited offers a week or two later because they used large amounts of their personal information to get &#8220;virtual currency&#8221; is not a problem. </p>
<p>But there are many companies (ours included) that value their customers deeply. I hope that these lead-gen companies put some more focus towards providing spam-free and honest offers instead of whatever pays the most.</p>
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		<title>By: Andrew Chen</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1589</link>
		<dc:creator>Andrew Chen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 Mar 2009 23:14:22 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1589</guid>
		<description>Here&#039;s some more detail on the differences between different providers:&lt;br&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.sachinrekhi.com/blog/2009/03/14/optimizing-offer-providers-with-sometrics-virtual-currency-manager&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot;&gt;http://www.sachinrekhi.com/blog/2009/03/14/opti...&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;To net it out, the entire thing is commoditized and many of the offers are coming from the same leadgen CPA networks. Sachin&#039;s claim is that the main drivers of different monetization numbers are basically just business terms, for now.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Here&#39;s some more detail on the differences between different providers:<br /><a href="http://www.sachinrekhi.com/blog/2009/03/14/optimizing-offer-providers-with-sometrics-virtual-currency-manager" rel="nofollow"></a><a href="http://www.sachinrekhi.com/blog/2009/03/14/opti.." rel="nofollow">http://www.sachinrekhi.com/blog/2009/03/14/opti..</a>.</p>
<p>To net it out, the entire thing is commoditized and many of the offers are coming from the same leadgen CPA networks. Sachin&#39;s claim is that the main drivers of different monetization numbers are basically just business terms, for now.</p>
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		<title>By: Andrew Chen</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1588</link>
		<dc:creator>Andrew Chen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 Mar 2009 23:12:22 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1588</guid>
		<description>Matt, is the eCPM really based on impressions to the offer page? Because I&#039;ve heard from several sources that the way it&#039;s quoted, it is actually defined by the number of UNIQUES to the offer page. It&#039;d be good to get an official clarification on how it&#039;s calculated.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;As for the Daily ARPU number, I think that almost any number is better than the eCPM metrics that are being quoted ;-) You&#039;re right that an ARPU would be particularly helpful, but for the developers, they will want to normalize against the uniques to their entire app, not just the payment page.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Matt, is the eCPM really based on impressions to the offer page? Because I&#39;ve heard from several sources that the way it&#39;s quoted, it is actually defined by the number of UNIQUES to the offer page. It&#39;d be good to get an official clarification on how it&#39;s calculated.</p>
<p>As for the Daily ARPU number, I think that almost any number is better than the eCPM metrics that are being quoted <img src='http://andrewchenblog.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif' alt=';-)' class='wp-smiley' />  You&#39;re right that an ARPU would be particularly helpful, but for the developers, they will want to normalize against the uniques to their entire app, not just the payment page.</p>
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		<title>By: Matt McAllister</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1587</link>
		<dc:creator>Matt McAllister</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 Mar 2009 22:49:22 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1587</guid>
		<description>Hi Andrew, &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Matt here from Offerpal. This is a great post. And you&#039;re absolutely right -- it makes sense for us and the industry to start using a better metric than eCPM, which is a bit like fitting a square peg into a round hole. There are some benefits to  using it, however. The key is -- and we make sure to point this out to people -- that you&#039;re getting that eCPM based on impressions to our offers page, so it&#039;s up to the publisher to drive as much traffic as they can to that page. Obviously this is a much different model than putting some banners up wherever you have the inventory and getting eCPMs in the hundreds of dollars, and as such it takes some getting used to. But most of our publishers started measuring our performance on an eCPM basis in the beginning, so it kind of stuck. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;One other metric we&#039;ve used is similar to your ARPU -- we tell people that we can make them about $75 per day for every 1,000 DAUs, which is our network average. If my math is correct, that&#039;s (75 / 1,000) X 30 = $2.25 ARPU on a monthly basis? Granted, that&#039;s not revenue per TOTAL users, just active users, so it&#039;s a bit different from what you suggest. Perhaps we should start talking more in those terms? &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Anyway, thanks for the thoughtful analysis.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi Andrew, </p>
<p>Matt here from Offerpal. This is a great post. And you&#39;re absolutely right &#8212; it makes sense for us and the industry to start using a better metric than eCPM, which is a bit like fitting a square peg into a round hole. There are some benefits to  using it, however. The key is &#8212; and we make sure to point this out to people &#8212; that you&#39;re getting that eCPM based on impressions to our offers page, so it&#39;s up to the publisher to drive as much traffic as they can to that page. Obviously this is a much different model than putting some banners up wherever you have the inventory and getting eCPMs in the hundreds of dollars, and as such it takes some getting used to. But most of our publishers started measuring our performance on an eCPM basis in the beginning, so it kind of stuck. </p>
<p>One other metric we&#39;ve used is similar to your ARPU &#8212; we tell people that we can make them about $75 per day for every 1,000 DAUs, which is our network average. If my math is correct, that&#39;s (75 / 1,000) X 30 = $2.25 ARPU on a monthly basis? Granted, that&#39;s not revenue per TOTAL users, just active users, so it&#39;s a bit different from what you suggest. Perhaps we should start talking more in those terms? </p>
<p>Anyway, thanks for the thoughtful analysis.</p>
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		<title>By: gyardley</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1584</link>
		<dc:creator>gyardley</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 Mar 2009 12:09:03 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1584</guid>
		<description>Hahaha, I don&#039;t believe that.  I&#039;ve been steering people away from Offerpal and others in that niche because I assumed from their &#039;CPM&#039; rates were just a shady way of getting people in the door, and by quoting them they were being unethical.  Now that I know they&#039;re skipping all but the last step in the conversion funnel, those rates make sense.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Thanks for clearing that up, Andrew.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hahaha, I don&#39;t believe that.  I&#39;ve been steering people away from Offerpal and others in that niche because I assumed from their &#39;CPM&#39; rates were just a shady way of getting people in the door, and by quoting them they were being unethical.  Now that I know they&#39;re skipping all but the last step in the conversion funnel, those rates make sense.</p>
<p>Thanks for clearing that up, Andrew.</p>
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		<title>By: Leland</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1548</link>
		<dc:creator>Leland</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 12 Mar 2009 03:56:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1548</guid>
		<description>Andrew your article was informative, but i find myself hoping for some sort of comparison between Gambit and some of the competitors. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;After reading this article, the question &quot;How does this new company with creative ideas compare against the industry leaders such as Offerpal?&quot; looms in my mind.&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;A critical thought I had of Gambit right off the bat was that, isn&#039;t the success of an offers-based monetization solution company based on how large their network of advertisers is (diversity of offer), and the effectiveness of their system smoothly moving users from the offer page to the final completion? &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Otherwise, a great and informative article Andrew. :)</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Andrew your article was informative, but i find myself hoping for some sort of comparison between Gambit and some of the competitors. </p>
<p>After reading this article, the question &#8220;How does this new company with creative ideas compare against the industry leaders such as Offerpal?&#8221; looms in my mind.</p>
<p>A critical thought I had of Gambit right off the bat was that, isn&#39;t the success of an offers-based monetization solution company based on how large their network of advertisers is (diversity of offer), and the effectiveness of their system smoothly moving users from the offer page to the final completion? </p>
<p>Otherwise, a great and informative article Andrew. <img src='http://andrewchenblog.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif' alt=':)' class='wp-smiley' /> </p>
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		<title>By: noah kagan</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1546</link>
		<dc:creator>noah kagan</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Mar 2009 19:22:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1546</guid>
		<description>nice write up. andrew chen for president!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>nice write up. andrew chen for president!</p>
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		<title>By: Andrew Chen</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1545</link>
		<dc:creator>Andrew Chen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Mar 2009 17:39:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1545</guid>
		<description>I think they need to come up with new terms rather than trying to redefine existing words that already mean something specific. It&#039;s really misleading, imho, and now even well-intentioned competitors in this space have to follow suit.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I think they need to come up with new terms rather than trying to redefine existing words that already mean something specific. It&#39;s really misleading, imho, and now even well-intentioned competitors in this space have to follow suit.</p>
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		<title>By: Andrew Chen</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1544</link>
		<dc:creator>Andrew Chen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Mar 2009 17:38:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1544</guid>
		<description>glad you liked it!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>glad you liked it!</p>
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		<title>By: Jussi Laakkonen</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1543</link>
		<dc:creator>Jussi Laakkonen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Mar 2009 16:48:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1543</guid>
		<description>Another fantastic post: insightful, hard data, very well edited and easy to read. Superb!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Another fantastic post: insightful, hard data, very well edited and easy to read. Superb!</p>
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		<title>By: Andrew Hoag</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1542</link>
		<dc:creator>Andrew Hoag</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Mar 2009 16:21:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1542</guid>
		<description>Andrew, thanks for the fantastic post.  In launching my current startup, this has been a constant source of frustration for us. We capture customers already further into the funnel and yet often get forced into a last-generation construct of &quot;eCPM&quot; causes all sorts of wonky math to occur. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;I do see an upcoming evolution of the lexicon necessary to evaluate lead-gen (and CPA) based businesses, especially as simple impression math falls further out of vogue for transactional segments. The claims of Offerpal making $100-500 eCPMs is better evaluated in the model you put forth. &lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt;Looking forward to more posts on this sort of topic!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Andrew, thanks for the fantastic post.  In launching my current startup, this has been a constant source of frustration for us. We capture customers already further into the funnel and yet often get forced into a last-generation construct of &#8220;eCPM&#8221; causes all sorts of wonky math to occur. </p>
<p>I do see an upcoming evolution of the lexicon necessary to evaluate lead-gen (and CPA) based businesses, especially as simple impression math falls further out of vogue for transactional segments. The claims of Offerpal making $100-500 eCPMs is better evaluated in the model you put forth. </p>
<p>Looking forward to more posts on this sort of topic!</p>
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		<title>By: mattmaroon</title>
		<link>http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/03/11/app-monetization-gambit-launches-funnel-metrics-and-arpu-vs-cpm/comment-page-1/#comment-1541</link>
		<dc:creator>mattmaroon</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Mar 2009 14:52:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andrewchenblog.com/?p=950#comment-1541</guid>
		<description>I was referring to our Facebook apps. Our destination site isn&#039;t really equivalent. It does monetize way better than Facebook apps in terms of RPU (without any sort of offers) but is much harder to grow.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I was referring to our Facebook apps. Our destination site isn&#39;t really equivalent. It does monetize way better than Facebook apps in terms of RPU (without any sort of offers) but is much harder to grow.</p>
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